City of London Sinfonia - Mendelssohn, Wagner and Britten

  • Venue


  • Time

    7:00 PM

  • Price

    £1.00 - £15.00

  • Book Tickets

Join City of London Sinfonia live at Southwark Cathedral on 19 May as they celebrate moving forward to more pleasurable times with music by Mendelssohn, Wagner and Britten in the latest installment of Restore and Revive

Our strings are sure to boost your spirits with Mendelssohn’s bright and energetic Octet in E-flat, while Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll – a symphonic poem, written for a celebration – will bring you peace and calm. Expect textural contrasts, pastoral tenderness, and be prepared to dance the tarantella in Britten’s Sinfonietta.

Presented in our usual seriously informal style, audience members will be able to roam freely about the space and experience the music in varying acoustics around the Cathedral. Of course, there are safety measures in place for everyone’s safety and pre-booked bubbles of seats are available in the Nave (main part of the Cathedral).


MENDELSSOHN      Octet in E-flat major, Op.20

WAGNER                   Siegfried Idyll

BRITTEN                    Sinfonietta, Op.1

City of London Sinfonia

Alexandra Wood, Director/Violin